• Publications
  • Thoughts
  • May’s team: Cabinet runners and riders and key players

    May’s team Cabinet runners and riders and key players

    Key players in her team

    Now that Theresa May has won, many senior members of her campaign team will expect to stay on in new roles to support her premiership.

    She has a large team and this will evolve, but current key individuals are known to include:

    • Chris Grayling, May’s leadership Campaign Manager: A senior Brexiteer during the EU referendum and long-known Eurosceptic. Currently the Leader of the House
    • Fiona Hill – Former May SpAd, now understood to be running strategy
    • Nick Timothy – Former Chief of Staff to May who is currently Director of the New Schools Network. Returned to run May’s leadership campaign. He has been involved in writing many of the early speeches
    • Lizzie Loudon – former Iain Duncan Smith SpAd and possible Press Secretary in Number 10
    • Joey Jones – Former Sky News political journalist, currently Home Office spokesperson and likely to move with the boss into Number 10
    • Damian Green MP – Parliamentary spokesperson, and fellow Remainer
    • Mike Penning MP – Former Comms Director for Iain Duncan Smith and ministerial colleague of May’s at the Home Office
    • Lord Ahmad – was known to be supporting the parliamentary operation, calling colleagues to garner support
    • George Hollingberry MP, Charlie Elphicke MP – Government Whips who helped to manage the parliamentary operation during May’s leadership campaign
    • Stephen Parkinson – Former May SpAd, and formerly of Vote Leave campaign, was running her ground campaig
    • Alex Dawson, Will Tanner and Liz Sanderson – May’s current Special Advisers at the Home Office
    • Katie Perrior, Media Spokesperson: Katie started her career at CCHQ working for Theresa May. She was formerly head of press at ITV and Channel 4, and was a local councillor in Bexley for 12 years
    Next Prev
    To Top
    Portland Loading Symbol