Eastbourne Borough Council

Eastbourne Borough Council is a marginal borough which shifts between Conservative and Liberal Democrat control. In 2007, the Liberal Democrats regained the majority they had lost in 2004 and subsequently defended this at the 2011 local elections. Currently, the Liberal Democrats hold a narrow majority with 15 of the 27 council seats, while the Conservatives have 11.

In 2010, the Liberal Democrats also won the parliamentary constituency for the first time since the 1992 General Election. A constituency poll from September 2014 gave the current MP, Stephen Lloyd, a considerable lead over the Tories. If Lloyd is able to buck the national trend and retain the seat, the Liberal Democrats may also be able to hold on to the Council for another term.

To Top
Portland Loading Symbol